Stock images of the Volvo Ocean Race for sale.
High resolution pictures that can be purchased and downloaded with a password.
This vast collection is completely unique and features the finest marine images available thanks to our unparalleled access behind the scenes of this amazing and explosive sport.
These photo galleries are from the official Volvo Ocean Race photographer.

The race began in Alicante on 29 October 2011 and ended in Galway on 7 July 2012. The 2011–12 Volvo Ocean Race was the 11th edition of the round-the-world Volvo Ocean Race, yacht race which started with an in-port race in Alicante, Spain on 29 October 2011 with six Volvo Open 70 yachts at the start line and ended with an in-port race in Galway, Ireland on 7 July 2012. The 39,270 NM route involved stopovers and in-port races in Cape Town, Abu Dhabi, Sanya, Auckland, Itajaí, Brazil, Miami, Lisbon, Lorient. The race consisted of nine ocean races and ten in-port races. Overall winner was Groupama.
The race used a scoring system where the overall winner was the team with the most points at the end of the race. All races counted with no discards allowed. The boats were awarded points in every race, six to one in in-port races and 30–5 points (30, 25, 20, 15, 10 and 5) for ocean races (legs). The race had a total of nine ocean legs and ten in-port races. Due to piracy the legs to and from Abu Dhabi were given two scores with the same total as the other legs. The scores were be divided 80+20% and 20+80% respectively.
In addition to the ocean and in-port races there were no-score pro-am races in every port where sponsors and guests were given an experience as close to that of true professional sailing.
Team Telefónica :
Team Telefónica announced their participation in the Volvo Ocean Race 2011-12 on 12 April 2011. The company will sponsor Pedro Campos’ team for the third consecutive time. The team could not use the former Telefónica boats as training boats, because the deadline for using second generation boats as training boats ended in March 2011. Their new boat was built at the King Marine shipyard in Valencia, Spain and is skippered by Iker Martinez.
  • Groupama :
  • Groupama was a French team skippered by Franck Cammas. The team acquired Ericsson 4, the second generation Volvo Open 70 that won the 2008-09 event, for training purposes. Their new boat Groupama 4 was built at the Multiplast shipyard in Vannes, France.
  • Team Abu Dhabi:
  • Team Abu Dhabi acquired Puma Avanti (formerly ABN Amro Two, a first generation Volvo Open 70) as a training boat was led by Ian Walker. Their new boat Azzam was built at the Persico shipyard in Bergamo, Italy.
  • Puma Ocean Racing powered by Berg Propulsion:
  • Puma Ocean Racing, powered by BERG Propulsion was skippered again by Ken Read. Their training boat, Il Mostro is Puma's boat from the 2008-2009 race, which placed second in that event. Their new boat Mar Mostro was built by New England Boatworks in Newport, Rhode Island.
  • Camper with Emirates Team New Zealand :
  • Camper with Emirates Team New Zealand was skippered by Chris Nicholson with a new Volvo Open 70 boat that was built by Cookson Boatbuilders in Auckland, New Zealand.
  • Team Sanya :
  • Team Sanya was skippered by Mike Sanderson (skipper of ABN Amro One, 2005-06 event winner). This team announced their entry on 17 June 2011 and are racing in the refitted second generation boat Sanya Lan (formerly Telefonica Blue).
Volvo Ocean Race Alicante Start Leg 1Volvo Ocean Race Cape TownVolvo Ocean Race Leg 2 Male'Volvo Ocean race Abu DhabiVolvo Ocean Race Auckland, New ZealandVolvo Ocean Race LisbonVolvo Ocean Race leg 8 from Lisbon to LorientVolvo Ocean Race Galway FinaleVolvo Ocean Race Legends Regatta - Whitbread BoatsAbu Dhabi Ocean Racing2017-18 Volvo Ocean Race Newport  Import Race2017-18 Volvo Ocean Race Newport Leg 9 Start