Created 25-Oct-23
Modified 24-May-24
Visitors 7
2888 photos
The America's Cup is the oldest international sporting trophy – dating back to 1851 – and stands as one of the hardest sporting endeavours. The New York Yacht Club, one of the most prestigious clubs in the world, held the trophy for 132 years before losing it in 1983 to Australia. Since then, the Cup has only been won by teams from the United States, Switzerland and New Zealand. The current Defender of the America's Cup is Emirates Team New Zealand, representing the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron.
The Louis Vuitton 37th America's Cup Barcelona official opening ceremony will be held in Barcelona on the 22nd of August 2024. The final Preliminary Regatta and the Louis Vuitton Cup (Challenger Selection Series) will follow, leading up to the Louis Vuitton America's Cup Match starting on the 12th of October 2024. During 2023 and early 2024, three preliminary events will be held in Vilanova i La Geltrú, Jeddah, and Barcelona. In June 2023, all teams set up their bases and are training within the Port Vell area
The challenging teams are: INEOS Britannia, the ‘Challenger of Record’ from the United Kingdom,
Alinghi Red Bull Racing from Switzerland, Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli from Italy, American Magic New York Yacht Club from the USA and Orient Express Racing Team from France.

Categories & Keywords
Subcategory:Water Sports
Subcategory Detail:Sailing
Keywords:37th, America's, American Magic New York Yacht Club, Barcelona, Emirates Team New Zealand, INEOS Britannia, ,Cup,, Luna, Orient Express Racing Team, Pirelli, Prada, Racing, Red, Rossa, regatta, sailing,  "Alinghi Red Bull Racing",